License for created content?

Good evening everybody, i guess this will be a dump question.

When i´ve created a Picture with Daz3D and downloaded clothes etc. from 3rd designers do i need a license if i wanted to puplish it in a comic book?

thank you in advance and sorry for “late night english”

from my Basement with love, Art

Hi there! Welcome to the forum!

Before we begin:

I am not a lawyer. This is my opinion and is not legal advice. My background is IT not law. For a definitive answer seek the advice of a licensed attorney in your area.

To answer your question: In general, no. You own the copyrights for any images you create with DAZ and there are no restrictions on the types of images you can create.

Any restrictions would be specified in the product’s ReadMe file and/ or product license. For assets purchased from DAZ, Renderosity, Renderotica, CgBytes it would be extremely rare to find a restriction imposed on the types of renders you could create.

You’re more likely to find restrictions on assets purchased from Renderhub or via Gumroad since those stores specifically allow PAs to sell products that look like famous people or celebrities or are direct rips from games and other franchises.

Celebrities and famous people (at least in the US) enjoy a right to their likeness that most people don’t enjoy. Google using a celebrity’s likeness for your own purposes for more information.

Where I have seen restrictions imposed is when it comes to freebie content downloaded from the marketplaces or via ShareCG for example. Some freebies will come with a stipulation that “Commercial Use” or “Commercial Renders” are either OK or prohibited, and by commercial renders the artist typically means anything that makes you money. Which I get. If you’re tossing something out there for free why should someone make money off your work and you not see any of it?

Hope this answers your question, and welcome again!